Wasabi Japanese Buffet

Wasabi Japanese Buffet
270 West Beaver Creek
Richmond Hill, ON

Wasabi is one of many AYCE sushi places in the Markham/Richmond hill area, I’ve only been here once prior (probably at least 4 years ago) to this visit. It is hands down the biggest AYCE sushi restaurant I’ve ever been to, when I say big I mean BIG; it’s the home depot of AYCE sushi restaurants. It’s kind of weird cause you have to order all the sushi/sashimi from a waiter but everything else is buffet style oppose to just ordering everything from your waiter like most AYCE sushi places.

The menu with all the sushi/sashimi that you can order.

Right behind the sushi bar is where you get all your cold appetizers/salads/D.I.Y leafy salad. On my plate I have some coleslaw, jelly fish salad, conch w/ cucumber, seaweed salad and steamed egg. Best thing on the plate was the steamed egg, if you know me you’ll know how much I love steamed egg.

The maki rolls I got: shrimp tempera roll, futomaki, spicy salmon roll & california roll. None of them we’re that good to be honest.

As soon as you turn around from the cold salad bar, there’s a teppanyaki / grill station; from salmon, mackerel chicken teriyaki etc, . Here I have beef with garlic and mushroom with onions & peppers. Everything was just mediocre and the steak was a little chewy.

Sashimi! The fish was cold which I like and it was pretty fresh.

This is my deep-fried foods plate! Spring roll (not very Japanese!), deep-fried scallop, “tempera” shrimp, tempera zucchini & yam. Oh, and this disgusting wonton package with shrimp. It had this slimy texture that I spat out after biting into it.

There’s a ramen/udon station near the back of the restaurant where you can pick all the ingredients you want and this nice man cooks it right in front of you. It was pretty good, very flavourful.

Wasabi has also has a Cantonese foods area where they have fried rice, noodles, sweet & sour pork etc. As for the desserts, everything is brought in so I didn’t take a picture and by that time I was pretty darn full, typical cakes, figure desserts, fruits & ice cream. There’s a chocolate fountain but it wasn’t on when I went.

Overall, I wouldn’t come back willingly nor would Wasabi be on my top ten picks for AYCE Japanese food. Over priced for what they give you but if you have a giant party there will be plenty of room.

Wasabi Japanese Buffet on Urbanspoon

Leave a comment